FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                            Contact: L.A. Carroll August 5, 2018    850.222.2228                                                                                                  


38 Congressional Black Caucus Members Endorse Al Lawson for Re-election

~Endorsements include current CBC Chair and four past chairs~

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Rep. Al Lawson picked up support of the majority of the members of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) in his re-election bid for Florida’s 5th Congressional District. Lawson, a Democrat, is seeking a second term in Congress in the August 28th primary.

“I am honored to have the endorsement of so many of colleagues in the CBC,” Lawson said. “They understand, as I do, the importance of fighting to against some of the unfair policies of this current administration, protecting affordable health care for all Americans, protecting voting rights, ensuring access to a quality public education, and strengthening marginalized communities and citizens all across the nation.”

For the 115th Congress, the CBC represents 78 million Americans, 24 percent of the total U.S. population, and 17 million African-Americans, 41 percent of the total U.S. African-American population. In addition, the CBC represents almost a fourth of the House Democratic Caucus.

As one of 49 CBC members, Lawson has fought to level the playing field for the nation’s most vulnerable citizens and underserved communities. In February, the congressman hosted a CBC briefing that studied the impact of food insecurity on communities of color. Additionally, as a member of the U.S. Small Business Committee, Lawson chaired a hearing in Jacksonville that examined the challenges minorities and women-owned businesses face when seeking funding from the Small Business Administration, traditional banks, private investment capital and additional financing mechanisms.

Lawson, who also serves on the HBCU Caucus, has also introduced the HBCU Parity Act of 2018 (HR 5122), which ensures funding for facility improvements at historically black universities that were established under the Second Morrill Act of 1890 and Tuskegee University.

The CBC members who have endorsed Lawson are: Rep. Cedric Richmond, CBC chairman (Louisiana); Rep. Sanford Bishop (Georgia); Rep. Bobby Scott (Virginia); Rep. Anthony Brown (Maryland); Rep. Barbara Lee (California); Rep. Dwight Evans (Pennsylvania); Rep. W.M. Lacy Clay (Missouri); Rep. A. Donald McEachin (Virginia); Rep. Yvette Clarke (New York); Rep. Gwen Moore (Wisconsin); Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (Delaware); Rep. GK Butterfield (North Carolina), former chairman; Rep. Al Green (Texas); Rep. Karen Bass (California); Rep. Donald M. Payne (New Jersey); Rep. Joyce Beatty (Ohio); Rep. Marc Veasey (Texas); Rep. Robin Kelly (New York); Rep. Brenda Lawrence (Michigan); Delegate Stacey Plaskett (Virgin Islands); Rep. David Scott (Georgia); Rep. Keith Ellison (Minnesota); Rep. Hank Johnson (Georgia); Rep. Andre Carson (Indiana); Rep. Marcia Fudge (Ohio), former chair; Rep. Terri Sewell (Alabama); Rep. Frederica S Wilson (Florida);  Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (New York); Rep. Alma Adams (North Carolina); Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (New Jersey); Rep. Val Butler Demings (Florida); Rep. James E. Clyburn (North Carolina), former chair and current assistant Democratic Leader; Rep. Elijah E. Cummings (Maryland), former chair; Rep. Bennie Thompson (Mississippi); Rep. Danny K. Davis (Illinois); Rep. Gregory Meeks (New York).