Florida Senate

  • During his tenure in the Florida Senate, Al was named the “Dean of the Florida Legislature,” recognizing his many years of service on behalf of the people of North Florida.
  • He worked to pass legislation as the Minority Leader of the Florida Senate from 2008 to 2010.
  • Al served as the Chairman of the Government Oversight & Accountability Committee, as well as the Chairman of the Environmental Preservation and Conservation Committee, and the Health and Life Insurance and General Insurance Regulation Committee.
  • Additionally, Al worked to protect local businesses in the North Florida community, serving as the Chairman of the Banking and Insurance Subcommittee and the Chairman of the Joint Legislative Auditing Committee.
  • In his final term, Al was elected Democratic leader of the Florida Senate.

Florida House of Representatives

  • During his time in the Florida House, Al served as the Majority Whip in 1986.
  • He also chaired the Natural Resources Committee, the Governmental Operations Committee, and was the Vice-Chairman of the General Governmental Appropriations Committee.

Honors and Awards

  • FAMU Interim Basketball Coach, 1976
  • Million Dollar Round Table
Florida Insurance Agent of the Year, 1979
  • National Sales Achievement Award, 1977-present
  • FAMU Alumni National Alumni Outstanding Service Award, 1985
  • Florida Student Association, Legislator of the Year, 1985
  • Tallahassee Urban League Outstanding Community Leadership Award, 1985
  • Inducted into the Florida A & M University Sports Hall of Fame, 1989
  • Florida State University Distinguished Alumni Award, 1989
  • Florida A & M University Meritorious Award, 1989
  • Sierra Club Outstanding Legislative Service Award, 1990
  • Organized Fishermen of Florida Legislative Service Award, 1989-1990
  • Nature Conservancy Award for Environmental Leadership, 1990
  • The Florida Conference of Black State Legislators Award for Devoted and Invaluable Service as Chairman, 1992-1994
  • The Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers Award for Distinctive Leadership Skills and Dedication to Preservation of Justice in Florida, 1994
  • LRC Vision Award, 1995
  • Rosewood Award for Contribution and Dedication to the successful passage of the Rosewood Claims Bill, 1996
  • The Florida State University Leadership Award for Leadership and Support during the 1996 Legislative Session